Historic win for Hutt at U21 Champs
 Team Announcements
 Training Schedule
 Training and Coaching Tips
 Trophy Cabinet
 Honours Bd.
 Standard Docs
 Guest Book
 What's New

Earn Money For Hutt Water Polo

Earn Money for Hutt Water Polo

Hutt Water Polo on Facebook

Under-21 National Championships
 9 - 11 Jul 2017

AUT Millennium, North Shore

Published: 15th Jul 2017

Display image in the 2017 Under-21 National Championships gallery.
Hutt Heat U21 Men - 2017 National Champions
Display image in the 2017 Under-21 National Championships gallery.
three Hutt members made the tournament team: Cam Hayes, Hamish Booker, Josh de Reeper
Hutt Club has claimed the inaugural Under 21 National Championships with a close 9-8 win over Marist in a hotly-contested final at Sacred Heart Aquatic Centre in Auckland on Tuesday.

Itís a historic win for Hutt, who claimed its first age group division one title for the first time in two decades.

Throughout the three-day tournament, both teams proved they had the capability to win, and it was Hutt who were the most threatening in the opening stages of the game. The bulk of ball possession went the way of the visitors, taking on home team Marist who were buoyed by eight members of the NZWPNL champion Magic side.

Hutt scored first through Lachie Watson after two promising attempts on goal and looked eager early on.  Marist equalized early on through a Cayne Dew penalty shot, but Hutt would have the lead 2-1 by the end of the quarter after NZ junior menís player Hamish Booker scored on a man up.

Booker caught fire in the second quarter, scoring a noteworthy three goals that boosted Hutt to a 5-2 lead at half-time.

Hutt kept the momentum early in the second half, scoring through Jack Ross for a four-goal lead and then again through Lachie Watson with a Marist goal from Nick Paterson in between.

The next two goals would go the way of the Marist side as they reduced the Hutt lead to two through Ryan Pike and Liam Paterson, and the score was 7-5 with a quarter to play.

Marist made it four in a row and drew level 7-7 with two goals from Kiwi menís player Ryan Pike; a comeback was on the cards.

A two-minute period followed with no goals, before Hutt broke the silence through Jack Ross for a slim 8-7 with 2:53 left on the clock.   Cameron Hayes looked to seal the deal with just 20 seconds left on the clock and put up a good shot for 9-7, but that didnít sink the hopes of Marist. With ball in hand, they earned a quick exclusion and scored (Pike) within seconds for 9-8, but Hutt ran out the game clock and it was all over, they were the inaugural Under 21 National Champions.

HUTT: Joshua de Reeper, Lachie Watson 2, Mathew Hansen, Jack Ross 2, Cameron Hayes 1, Connor Bougen, Hamish Waddell, Matt Quin, Hamish Booker 4, Nate Russell, C Tainui, Jack Player, Will Murphy.
Coach: Chris Naylor, Asst: Sean Bryant, Manager: P Watson

See details of the related event:
  *  2017 Under-21 National Championships
See more of What's New   

Display the Printer Friendly version of this page 

Hutt Water Polo Club are proudly supported by the following organisations
Four Winds Foundation Hutt Mana Charitable Trust Infinity Foundation New Zealand Racing Board One Foundation Pelorus Trust Pub Charity

Home  | Snippets  | Team Announcements  | Galleries  | Training Schedule  | Training and Coaching Tips  | Trophy Cabinet  | Honours Bd.  | Contacts  | Standard Docs  | Guest Book  | What's New

a BengeWeb site  Hutt Water Polo Club
Website Feedback  Top of Page

 This page is current to 19 Aug 2019, 03:22:48 PM and took 0.565 secs to generate.